October Top New Releases Chart

October Chart Cover 2015

This chart list is a celebration of a full year of chart listing from me at Whono’s Music! One year ago I started this monthly project and it has been a great way to push myself to constantly be searching for new amazing music, as well as a way to share and promote the music that I love. The tracks I have shared has been on both major labels as well as small independent ones, and I like to keep a good mix of both established and upcoming artists while focusing on sounds within techno, tech house and minimal. I also try to find the music through various medias although it has been easy to fall into a routine pattern here – something I intend to work more on to find new ways to discover awesome releases. 

For this year’s October releases we start up with a fun, cool and pumping acid techno track from MANIK called ‘Acid Sandwich’ released on BPitch Control. It’s a very raw and analogue sounding track with nice claps and a great driving acid bassline – a very tasty sandwich indeed! Next up is a dark techno track from Cosmic Boys with a mysterious big room feel to it. ‘The Day Before’ is the main track of their EP released on Form Music with remixes made by Matt Sassari and Tres Jinetes that are well worth checking out too.


The Irish producer duo Schmutz released a new EP on Omnidisc which is the label’s 5th record. The first track ‘Transgender’ that named the EP got a well deserved 3rd place in the chart list. A dance inducing and throbbing bassline together with machine drum beat patterns makes up for a great dance floor winner track. Record label Ostgut Ton owned by the German super techno club Berghain is celebrating 10 (or zhen) years as a label and has along with that released a big anniversary compilation called ‘Zhen’ with 30 tracks from big artists such as Steffi, Nick Höppner, Answer Code Request, Len Faki and many more. From all these awesome tracks the one from master Ben Klock stood out for me, and made it into October’s top new releases. This track is called ‘Sirens’ and is a late night techno track before the storm kicks in on the dance floor, with a soft melancholic siren melody on top of thumping beats. (Don’t miss this guy next week along with Nina Kraviz at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, more info here.)


The 5th track in the list ‘No Mind’ by Michal Wolski is a dark and evil sounding tune with overhanging high pitched sweeps on top of ticking hi-hats, a greedy bass and a repeating mourning synthesised alarm. We’ve also got a great creation by Raul Aguilar called ‘Flowers’ that was released on Yoruba Grooves. Tale Of Us teamed up with Mind Against and made a great minimal tech track called ‘Astral’ with impressive toms and horns atop a bed of bassy soundscapes.


Animal Picnic is a Spanish duo who is on the rise at the moment and has played many times around Ibiza with a bright future ahead. Their song ‘Vandala’ is the third track on their lastest EP ‘Sinopsia’ on Steyoyoke Recordings. It’s a nice deep house song with a late-night-longing lead synth going through and tingling clicks and arpeggios. Ending this cart list is Bodhi’s stomping and dancy house tune ‘Howler’ released on Black Butter Records and lastly a dreamy electronica creation named ‘Lumière Sombre’ by Noir. This track was released on NM2 Records who are returning after 18 months absence; promising new ideas and new visions.


1. MANIK – Acid Sandwich
2. Cosmic Boys – The Day Before
3. Schmutz – Transgender
4. Ben Klock – Sirens
5. Michal Wolski –  No Mind
6. Raul Aguilar – Flowers
7. Tale Of Us & Mind Against – Astral
8. Animal Picnic – Vandala
9. Bodhi – Howler
10. Noir – Lumière Sombre

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s